When does A League of Their Own series 18 start? Who are the team captains? Who is the host?

Virgin Radio

27 Sep 2023, 10:53

L-R: Jill Scott, Katherine Ryan, Romesh Ranganathan, Micah Richards, Mo Gilligan, Jamie Redknapp, Gareth Bale

Credit: Sky

A League of Their Own will return for series 18 very soon, and there are some brand new faces ready to tackle the hilarious sports-comedy panel. 

ALOTO has been a staple of Sky’s schedule since it began in 2010, and was previously hosted by James Corden until 2019. 

The likes of John Bishop, Freddie Flintoff and Jack Whitehall used to be at the helm of the panels, but now a new selection of regulars and new team captain will be thrown in the mix. 

With all that said, here’s everything you need to know about the upcoming 18th series of A League of Their Own. 

Who are the A League of Their Own team captains? 

Returning for his 18th time at the head of the Red Team will be football star Jamie Redknapp, but after announcing his departure from the show, cricket legend Freddie Flintoff will be replaced as leader of the Blue Team by Lioness legend Jill Scott

Jill played for England from 2006 until 2022, following the team’s historic win at the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022. She retired as the second-most capped international footballer and went on to land an even bigger feat - being crowned Queen of the Jungle during I’m A Celebrity…Get Me Out Of Here! 2022

Jill’s casting was announced in July 2023 with an unveiling of her own Angel of the North-style bronze statue by the Mayor of Gateshead.

Speaking at the time of her statute reveal, Jill said: “It’s not everyday you get to unveil a giant statue of yourself. It’s massive and incredibly lifelike. I could have done with those few extra feet back in my playing days! But the crowning glory for me? 

“It’s got to be seeing Rom and Jamie’s faces when this lands on their doorstep in London - the banter has already started and I know I will get a lot of stick when I kick off my tenure as a team captain.”

Who are the A League of Their Own series 18 panellists?

Jamie and Jill will be joined by footballer Micah Richards, who had his debut in the 2022 series alongside a string of guest team captains. 

Now, Micah will be joined by incoming newbie and comedian Mo Gilligan, but it won’t be his first time sat on the illustrious panel. The Latish Show star has previously appeared on ALOTO but will have a more permanent part to play in series 18. 

Joining Mo and Micah on the guest list for 2023 will be massive names across sport, comedy and TV, with the likes of Gareth Bale, James Maddison, Stuart Broad, Mary Earps, Christian Horner, Daniel Sturridge, Katherine Ryan, Tom Davis, Jimmy Carr, Maisie Adam, Guz Khan, Alex Brooker, Big Zuu, and more expected on screen. 

Who is the host of A League of Their Own?

Once again, Romesh Ranganathan will be in charge of the chaos as host of A League of Their Own. 

The Rob & Romesh Vs star first took over from James Corden in 2020, which makes 2023 his fourth year at the helm. 

When does series 18 of A League of Their Own start?

Good news ALOTO fans! The brand new series will return to Sky Max and NOW from Wednesday 25th October!

The official Sky synopsis for series 18 reads: "Madcap challenges for the ALOTO family to face include a penalty challenge in front of a packed-out Old Trafford crowd, a Peloton challenge to become the best instructor, a Bazball inspired ALOTO cricket challenge and a turn to ‘glow up’ football managers Iain Dowie and Ian Holloway, before revealing their new looks on the ALOTO catwalk…”

A League of Their Own returns to Sky Max and Now on Wednesday 25th October.