Derry Girls teases major guest stars for series 3: ‘People are going to lose their minds’

Virgin Radio

11 Apr 2022, 13:33

Credit: Channel 4

After waiting for what feels like an eternity, the third and final season of Derry Girls is almost here. 

Fans will say goodbye to the beloved Channel 4 comedy when it starts tomorrow night (Tuesday 12th April), but don’t be too sad! There’s lots to look forward to, according to the cast. 

The main cast, including Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan), Orla McCool (Louisa Harland), and James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), will meet with some seriously cool guest stars. 

That’s according to Louisa, who told that people are going to go mad when they spot the famous faces involved. 

She teased about some “major, major guest stars”, saying: "I think people are going to lose their minds when they see who.”

While obviously careful not to give anything away, James actor Dylan added fans can also look forward to seeing some fan-favourites from across the first two series. 

According to Dylan, there are some “icons” returning, adding; “We're so lucky to have them back.”

On the show reaching incredible heights and what it should be remembered for, Erin actress Saoirse explained: “I think it leaves a legacy of hope and it leaves a legacy that childhood and adolescence should be protected.

"But I also hope that it leaves a legacy for the television industry; that it puts the faith within commissioners to allow people from regional, working-class backgrounds to have their own TV shows."

While we’re only a mere day away from the release, the Derry Girls team sent the internet into a frenzy when they announced the release date with a teaser clip.

The new series will centre around the Derry Girls (and boy) anxiously awaiting their GCSE results as they begin to plan their life post-exams, while the Good Friday Agreement of 1998 is edging closer in the background of their lives. 

Derry Girls series 3 begins on Channel 4 at 9:15pm.