Blur to receive coveted Silver Clef award

Virgin Radio

31 May 2024, 15:44

Blur onstage

Pic: Getty

Exciting news for Blur as they are set to receive the O2 Silver Clef Award next month.

The honour is presented by music therapy charity Nordoff and Robbins at their annual O2 Silver Clef awards in London on 5 July.

As well as Blur, the likes of AC/DC, Chaka Khan, Loyle Carner, Mark Knopfler, Young Fathers and Jacob Collier will be receiving a prize.



Sir Richard Branson on how 'delightful' David Bowie inspired his space travel

Oasis announce Definitely Maybe 30th edition with studio outtakes, unreleased recordings and more - all details

Bernie Taupin shares exciting update about new Elton John album


Blur are receiving the top honour, putting them among the likes of David Bowie and George Michael, Sir Paul McCartney, Kylie Minogue, The Rolling Stones, Coldplay, Ed Sheeran, Oasis and more.

Bassist Alex James said: "Making music with my brothers in Blur has been one of the great gifts of my life. We are absolutely chuffed to receive the O2 Silver Clef Award and help raise awareness for Nordoff and Robbins, a brilliant organisation.”

It comes after news of a reunion documentary has been released, called To The End.

AC/DC are receiving the Legend Award.

Brian Johnson said: "We're over the moon to receive the Amazon Music Legend Award. As a band, we've been dishing out our own brand of music therapy for the past five decades, so to hear all about how Nordoff and Robbins helps the young and the old with the power of music is something that we understand and salute. Thank you for this honour.”

Chaka Khan is going to be awarded the Global Impact Award:

She said: "Music has always been my solace, my strength, my voice, a gift. I'm grateful for this beautiful honour to be part of the Nordoff and Robbins creative community, where the power of music is used to transform, inspire, and bring love to the world. Music really does heal.”

Jessie Ware will win Best Female, The 1975 who will win Best Group, Texas who will be receiving the Outstanding Achievement Award. Cat Burns will receive the Best New Music Award and Ezra Collective will win the Contemporary Music Award.