Muse announce 20th anniversary ‘Origin Of Symmetry’ remix album

Virgin Radio

20 May 2021, 15:27

Where has time gone?!

Muse are releasing a remixed version of their seminal album to celebrate the forthcoming 20th anniversary of ‘Origin Of Symmetry'.

They've also made a new version of ‘Citizen Erased’.

You'll be able to get your hands on the new remix album on June 18.

The incredible album was originally released on July 17, 2001.

If that's not enough, the record will also be released on vinyl on July 9th.

The band teamed up with long-term producer Rich Costey.

According to the press release, the new version of the album sees the band offering a “more open, dynamic and less crushed sound."

“In revisiting the album what we found was the original mixes on the singles, like ‘Plug In Baby’ and ‘Bliss’, were pretty good so they were the hardest ones to improve,” said Matt Bellamy.

“It was the deeper album tracks like ‘Micro Cuts’ where we were able to make massive breakthroughs.”

Bellamy also told  that they were considering a “special show”.

“The fans loved the box set of our early stuff 2019’s NME-Award-winning ‘Origin Of Muse’. A lot of them said they couldn’t get it, so I’m wondering if we should just make a bunch more."

“If the live scene exists next year, we could do a special show to celebrate it in some way. I wouldn’t be against that. As soon as concerts open up again, Muse will be keen to do something.”

The band have also started work on their new album.

They were also considering moving back to their hometown of Teignmouth in Devon.

Bellamy said: “I like the idea of totally resetting and going back to where we come from"

“As in, physically moving back to our hometown and getting back to how we used to be at square one. We’re likely to get in the studio next year to make a new album of some kind and then tour after that, depending on the travel restrictions.”

You can check out the track-list below.

Side M 1. ‘New Born’ 2. ‘Bliss’Side U 3. ‘Space Dementia’ 4. ‘Hyper Music’ 5. ‘Plug In Baby’Side S 6. ‘Citizen Erased’ 7. ‘Micro Cuts’ 8. ‘Screenager’ 9. ‘Darkshines’Side E 10. ‘Feeling Good’ 11. ‘Futurism’ 12. ‘Megalomania’