The Prodigy announce 25th anniversary edition of Fat Of The Land

Virgin Radio

1 Jul 2022, 08:33

The Prodigy in 1995

Credit: Getty

Fat Of The Land, The Prodigy’s third album, is celebrating its 25th anniversary today (30 June), and to mark the occasion, they are releasing a special edition reissue of the acclaimed record. 

When it was first released in 1997, the album quickly earned itself legendary status. After all, it produced the hit singles Firestarter, Breathe and Smack My Bitch Up and topped both the UK and US album charts selling over 10 million copies worldwide to date. 

In celebration of its 25th birthday, XL Recordings have announced two special releases, including a limited edition 2 LP silver 12-inch vinyl package of the original album plus a reimagined version of the artwork by Alex Jenkins. 

The reissue is due to be released on 4 November, but you can pre-order it now. 

To continue the celebrations, drum ‘n’ bass icon Andy C has released a brand new remix of Firestarter, which you can listen to below. 

On top of that, The Prodigy is making a comeback to live music with a string of UK gigs next month. The sold-out tour stops at different venues across the country over 10 dates, finishing with three nights at London’s O2 Academy Brixton. 

When announcing the tour, the band said: “We can’t wait to get back on stage to play our tunes for the people again. The 25th anniversary of Fat Of The Land felt like the right time for us to set up.”

They also teased there could be some new music on the way, and added: “We’ll be droppin tunes from all our albums and maybe some shit u haven’t heard before.”

In 2019, frontman Keith Flint sadly passed away after taking his own life aged 49, and the band said this tour will be dedicated to him. 

They concluded: “This one’s for Flinty…Now let’s fuckin go!”

‘Fat Of The Land’ 25th anniversary reissue tracklisting:

1. ‘Smack My Bitch Up’

2. ‘Breathe’

3. ‘DieselPower’

4. ‘Funky Shit’

5. ‘Serial Thrilla’

6. ‘Mindfields’

7. ‘Narayan’

8. ‘Firestarter’

9. ‘Climbatize’

10. ‘Fuel My Fire’