Gorillaz drop new song and announce album featuring Beck, Stevie Nicks and more

Virgin Radio

1 Sep 2022, 10:53

Artwork of Murdoc, Noodle, Russel and 2D.

Credit: Twitter @Gorillaz

Gorillaz are coming back with a new album, called Cracker Island, which will feature a bunch of cool collaborations. And to give fans a taste of what they can expect, the virtual band have released a new single, in which they team up with Tame Impala and Bootie Brown.

The animated group’s eighth studio album, Cracker Island, will be released on 24th February, 2023, and is their first LP since 2020’s Song Machine, Season One – Strange Timez.

Gorillaz - fronted by Blur legend Damon Albarn, and made up of fictional characters Murdoc, Noodle, Russel and 2D - have teamed up with several real-life big-name artists for their new record. After Thundercat helps the band open the album with its title-track, Fleetwood Mac legend Stevie Nicks teams up with them on the next song, Oil. Elsewhere, Beck features on the final track of the record, called Possession Island. 

Also collaborating are Bad Bunny, and Adeleye Omotayond, as well as Tame Impala and Bootie Brown, who join forces with the band on the single New Gold, which has just landed. 

Check it out here: 

A band statement says: “Originally based at Kong Studios in West London, the group of musical misfits – Murdoc, Noodle, Russel and 2D – have relocated to Silverlake, California as they recruit new members to join The Last Cult in search of the one truth to fix the world.”

The statement continues: “Reports from the Golden State indicate that Murdoc is in love with the lady next door. Russel is glued to the TV. Noodle is compiling a handbook of wisdom and knowledge. And 2D is busy being 2D.”

The album is produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Greg Kurstin, Gorillaz and Remi Kabaka Jr.

Cracker Island will be available via digital download, as well as on CD, and a number of vinyl options, as well as various deluxe and limited edition options, bundles and cassettes. 

The tracklisting for Cracker Island is as follows:

  • 1. Cracker Island feat. Thundercat

  • 2. Oil feat. Stevie Nicks

  • 3. The Tired Influencer

  • 4. Tarantula

  • 5. Silent Running feat. Adeleye Omotayo

  • 6. New Gold feat. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown

  • 7. Baby Queen

  • 8. Tormenta feat. Bad Bunny

  • 9. Skinny Ape

  • 10. Possession Island feat. Beck