Andrew Lloyd Webber has composed new music for the coronation

Virgin Radio

19 Feb 2023, 15:03

Credit: Getty

It all takes place at Westminster Abbey on May 6th.

It has been announced that the coronation service of King Charles and Queen Camilla will have 12 newly-commissioned pieces of music, including a composition by Andrew Lloyd Webber.

It is said that the King has personally chosen the music for the ceremony, which will take place at Westminster Abbey on May 6th.

The music will have a traditional tone with pieces from classical composers such as William Byrd, George Handel and Sir Edward Elgar featured, though Lord Lloyd-Webber said he wanted his new coronation anthem to reflect a "joyful occasion".

The composer and theatre owner, aged 74, the same age as the King, is arguably Britain's best known composer of musicals, with The Phantom of the Opera and Cats being among his compositions.

The other composers chosen by the King to write new music are Iain Farrington, Sarah Class, Nigel Hess, Paul Mealor, Tarik O'Regan, Roxanna Panufnik, Shirley J. Thompson, Judith Weir, Roderick Williams and Debbie Wiseman.

The BBC report that there will be a 'coronation orchestra', and soloists will include Welsh opera singer Sir Bryn Terfel. Part of the service will be sung in Welsh.

Additionally, Sir John Eliot Gardiner will conduct a programme of choral music, while there will be Greek Orthodox music in memory of the King's father, Prince Philip.

We're still holding out for Kylie.